Fourth Rutte government sworn in

The fourth Rutte government was sworn in at Noordeinde Palace on Monday. The new government is a coalition made up of the VVD, D66, CDA and the Christian Union and comprises 20 ministers and 9 state secretaries.

The swearing-in ceremony in the presence of His Majesty King Willem-Alexander marks the official start of the fourth Rutte government’s term in office.

The People’s Party for Freedom and Democracy (VVD) has 8 ministers and 3 state secretaries in the new government. Democrats ’66 (D66) has 6 ministers and 3 state secretaries, the Christian Democratic Alliance (CDA) has 4 ministers and 2 state secretaries, while the Christian Union has 2 ministers and 1 state secretary.

Ministries and ministerial positions

The ministries in the fourth Rutte government are unchanged from the previous government. However, four new ministerial positions have been created:

  • Minister for Climate and Energy Policy
  • Minister for Nature and Nitrogen Policy
  • Minister for Housing and Spatial Planning
  • Minister for Poverty Policy, Participation and Pensions.

Members of the government

Coalition agreement

All the new government’s plans are set out in the coalition agreement of 15 December 2021, entitled ‘Looking out for each other, looking ahead to the future’.