The Permanent Representation: what we do

What we do

The Permanent Representation of the Kingdom of the Netherlands to the European Union represents Dutch interests in negotiations that take place within the European Union (EU).

The Permanent Representation in Brussels is one of the Netherlands' largest posts, with a team of experts sourced from practically all government departments. We negotiate and lobby on behalf of the Netherlands in the EU. This implies that we are in daily contact with representatives of other EU Member States, the European Commission and the European Parliament. The structure of the NL PermRep differs from other Embassies of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. This is due to the unique way the EU functions, where Member States meet to discuss issues in 3 distinct formations.

Mr Robert de Groot, the Netherlands Permanent Representative to the EU, has overall responsibility for the work of our post and represents the Netherlands at the weekly meetings of the Committee of Permanent Representatives (Coreper II). Coreper prepares meetings of the various configurations of the Council of Ministers. Coreper II covers predominantly monetary and financial matters, foreign policy, and judicial cooperation.

Mr Michael Stibbe, the Netherlands Deputy Permanent Representative to the EU, represents the Netherlands at the Committee of Deputy Permanent Representatives (Coreper I). COREPER I deals with dossiers such as climate and energy, employment, agriculture and education.

A third group of representatives of EU Member States meets at ambassadorial level to discuss the Common Foreign and Security Policy of the EU. Mr Roger van Laak represents the interests of the Netherlands in the Political and Security Committee (PSC).

The Dutch Permanent Representation is largely structured around these formations. Please use the menu on the left to find the names and contact details of our staff, classified per section. Difficulty finding the right person? Please call our general telephone number +32 2 679 15 11.