UN Security Council Membership 2018

Last year we were very grateful for the broad support for the Split Term of Italy (2017) and the Netherlands (2018) in the UN Security Council for the Western European and Other States Group (WEOG).  

As part of this arrangement Italy serves as a non-permanent member of the Security Council until the end of the day (midnight) of 31 December 2017, when it relinquishes its seat. Subject to election by the General Assembly, the Kingdom of the Netherlands shall fulfil the remainder of this 2017-2018 Security Council term effective 1 January 2018.  

As a follow up the President of the General Assembly scheduled by-elections for this WEOG seat on June 2nd, 2017 at 10.00 a.m. in the General Assembly, preceding the regular 2017 elections for the UN Security Council. Conform the arrangement,  for this by-election the Kingdom of the Netherlands is the endorsed and only candidature of the WEOG for the remainder of the Security Council term (1 January – 31 December 2018).