The Netherlands in IAEA Board of Governors

On 3 October 2016 the Netherlands has become a Member of the Board of Governors of the IAEA for a period of two years (2016-2017 and 2017-2018). The Netherlands has been elected during the General Conference last week. The Board examines and makes recommendations to the General Conference on the IAEA’s financial statements, programme and budget. It considers applications for membership, approves safeguards agreements and the publication of the IAEA’s safety standards. It also appoints the IAEA Director General. The Board generally meets five times per year. Along with the Netherlands, the following countries have been elected to the Board of Governors: Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Belarus, Brazil, Canada, China, Costa Rica, Cote d’Ivoire, Denmark, France, Germany, Ghana, India, Japan, Republic of Korea, Latvia, Namibia, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Russian Federation, Singapore, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America, Uruguay. The Chair of the current Board of Governors is the Governor of South Africa, Mr Tebogo Seokolo.

Belongs to