Cultural heritage sites in the Netherlands

The Netherlands currently has ten UNESCO-approved World Heritage Sites. These sites are not only important to the Netherlands, but they are irreplaceable for the entire earth. The Dutch following sites are part of UNESCO’s World Heritage List:

  • Van Nelle Factory (2014)
  • Seventeenth-Century Canal Ring Area of Amsterdam inside the Singelgracht (2010)
  • Wadden Sea ( together with Germany) (2009)
  • Rietveld Schröder House in Utrecht (2000)
  • Polder the Beemster in North Holland (1999)
  • Ir. D.F. Wouda Steam Pumping Station near Lemmer (1998)
  • The historic city centre of Willemstad at Curaçao (1997)
  • Windmills of Kinderdijk-Elshout (1997)
  • Defence Line of Amsterdam (1996)
  • Schokland (municipality Noordoostpolder) (1995)

Find out more about the Dutch cultural heritage sites that are on the official World Heritage List at the website of Dutch World Heritage Foundation.

Windmills at Kinderdijk