UNESCO Committees of which the Netherlands is a member

The job of the General Conference is to establish specific or technical committees and other supporting bodies for the execution of UNESCO’s policy. All these committees and bodies are responsible for a certain UNESCO programme; they are involved in the process of policy making and they guarantee the implementation of the programme. There are certain general rules the committees must obey: geographic divisions and the principle of rotation. Member states from various parts of the world are elected for four years in one or more of these committees. Normally, these bodies meet twice yearly.

The Netherlands is actively involved in the International Hydrological Programme (IHP). This scientific programme focusses on global water difficulties within the whole specter of UNESCO: flood and drought, surface water and groundwater, water and peace, water and culture, water in the humid tropics, deserts, wet marshlands, cities and nature reserves... The Dutch contribution is coordinated by the National IHP Committee, an advisory committee directed by two Dutch ministries: the Ministry of Infrastructure and Environment and the Ministry of Education, Culture and Science. An important contribution to the IHP is the UNESCO-IHE Institute for Water Education located in Delft. This institute is completely financed by the Netherlands and is an official UNESCO centre. An ‘older brother’ of the IHP is the International Commission for the Hydrology of the Rhine basin ( CHR), of which the office of the secretariat is located at RIZA (Institute for Inland Water Management and Waste Water Treatment) in the Netherlands. All Rhine countries are members of the CHR.